Day: January 7, 2015

Hot and Sour Steamed Chicken

IMG_0035I have had a lovely time eating masses of desert and consuming way too many glasses of wine and champagne !! When someone close to me , my husband pointed out my new bread basket, thats my new stomach I realised it was time to halt the over consumption and get a little healthier.

Thats when the steamer comes into its own. Tonight I steamed some chicken thigh filets for 12 minutes and although they do not look fabulous they are moist and tender. The key is to put them into a sauce or dressing that adds a punch of flavour.

Served with some fresh greens like broccolini and rice and presto you have a quick easy meal in about 14 minutes. You can quickly prepare the dressing while the chicken and the rice are finished off. Don’t forget to add the green vegetables for the last two minutes.

The dressing is made up of

2 tbsp finely chopped coriander stems

5cm piece of ginger ,cut into strips

2 spring onions sliced finely

2 garlic cloves chopped finely

1 large red chilic finely chopped

2 tbspn light soy sauce

1 tbspn brown vinegar

1 tspn brown sugar

1 tspn sesame oil

2 tbspn peanut oil

Combine all of the above  and pour over chicken while chicken is warm.